Toyota GR86 Forum - GT86 Forum, Subaru BRZ Forum, Scion ... banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going to be driving my BRZ year round. Midwest winters and snow mean appropriate tires.

I’ll be buying wheels for the winter tires so the question is: is there any reason not to use steel rims, and are there any sizing concerns to be aware of?

·
Registered
Ordered: '22 LTD AT Sapphire Blue Pearl
88 Posts
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to wheel-swapping, but I have a similar application. I'm getting a Limited, so I will need 18" rims mounted with winter tires. I don't really want to ruin the looks of the car, so I'm thinking of getting another set of alloy rims for winter. I was wondering if any prior generation FRS / 86 / BRZ had compatible 18" wheels?

Reactions: BJG86

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Limited can still take a 17” wheel and from what shopping I’ve done it’ll be much MUCH easier to find winters in that size. I think the RC base model GR 86 is going to ship with 16” steelies. If it has the same brakes, 16” may be the way to go, but the sizing there is a real mystery!

·
Registered
88 Posts
That's a brilliant observation, @BJG86! 16" or 17" would also allow a taller profile tire to better absorb winter/spring potholes and rough roads.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Yep, I second the smaller wheel argument. I run 15" steel wheels + Continental Viking Contact 7 tires on my Fiesta ST for the winter. Driving experience is the trade off, but amazing snow performance and safety are the gains. It still corners well, but grip is nowhere near the P Zero Neros. It makes the transition to summer tires a lot of fun each year, it's like getting a new car (for a week, then I'm used to it again).

-Bob

·
Registered
73 Posts